Guacamole, California and food memories

by maddalenaerre

Last Monday we had a totally unexpected special lunch break: Jeff, my boss, arranged an homemade huge  Mexican lunch at his place. All the dishes were handmade by one of his guests, a lovely Mexican guy. I’d never thought to eat an all-veggie Mexican meal – I mean, everybody knows that it’s all about the meat! – but it was really the best I’ve ever had, I swear.

We ate so much that we all wondered how we could start to work again, once back in the office. Everything was delicious: homemade tortillas with queso, a bittersweet soup made with corn and soy sour cream, a super tasteful salad with an honey and mustard dressing, mashed red beans – and much more. But the king for a day, for me, was definitely the guacamole. My boss is from LA originally and he really does the best guacamole ever.

Instagram pictures taken by me on Monday, April 2nd

This dish brings to me the sweetest memories. It reminds me of my first trip to the US, when I was eleven, with my mom and dad. Once there, I met my “other” family, the lovely people that welcomed my parents when they were young and full of hopes, without a clue about studying and working in  the US. We stayed in Palo Alto, a city that I loved immediately from the bottom of my heart. While there, we celebrated the 83rd birthday of my “soul granny” – an amazing and powerful Irish woman, Grace. Of course, they did guacamole. It was my first time, the flavor was a bit strange to my Italian taste buds, but it was – you have to say it – love at first “taste”. The two months I spent there have been one of the happiest period of my life. I was a very shy and torn kid, not exactly the most joyful person in the world – but actually I was, there. Grace left this land of tears almost five years ago to reach a better place, but she is still on my mind and in my heart.

And everytime I eat guacamole, I think about her.

(by the way, below you can see the dessert we ate – an homemade lemon cheesecake with mango, strawberries and dark chocolate – it was THE BEST!)

UPDATE:

In case you are planning a trip to Milan for Easter leave, go to the Triennale: besides being one of the major museums in Italy, from 3rd to 15th April there will be an interactive installation created by my boyfriend about love letters, love messages and much more…check this link (it’s just in Italian, I’m sorry!)

